Personal Details

bewerbung

Dr. phil. Steffen Lepa M.A. M.A., born 1978, is Media and Communication Scholar and lives in Berlin, Germany.

Presently, he is a postdoc researcher at the Audio Communication Group, Institute for Language and Communication, Technical University of Berlin. Additionally, he holds teaching appointments for statistics, methodology and sound design at different universities. Furthermore, Steffen has realized several pedagogically inspired media production projects and B.A./M.A. program evaluation studies as a freelancer.

His research interests generally refer to how ubiquitous electronic media technologies take their part in changing human perception, learning and social life and how these processes may be adequately empirically researched and analyzed. His current key research areas comprise the different forms and psychosocial functions of every day audio media use, the design and reception of sound and music in audiovisual media, and finally the development and application of empirical research methods (advanced statistical procedures, mixed-methods, interpretive analysis methods).

His research curiosity is complemented with the will to not only observe potential societal changes systematically as an analyst but to also take part in actively shaping them in order to realize a common productive, social, liberal and peaceful future.

In his everyday life as a scholar, be it in teaching, research, publications or commitee activities, he tries to realize this vision of doing ethically involved scientific scholarship that takes position and is rooted in the values of enlightenment, solidarity and liberalism.

In private, Steffen Lepa likes cooking, doing bicycle tours, philosophical reflecting, producing electronic and/or acoustic music and enjoying Berlin club culture.

If you got any questions regarding the contents of this website or if you have interest in cooperating with Steffen Lepa, feel free to get in contact.

Zur Person

bewerbung

Dr. phil. Steffen Lepa M.A. M.A. ist Jahrgang 1978, Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaftler und wohnt und lebt in Berlin.

Zur Zeit ist er Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Institut für Sprache
und Kommunikation der Technischen Universität Berlin am Fachgebiet Audiokommunikation, daneben Lehrbeauftragter für Statistik, Methodologie und Sound Design, sowie freiberuflich in Projekten zur Evaluation von Bologna-Studiengängen und an verschiedenen (meist pädagogisch oder musikalisch inspirierten) Medienproduktionen beteiligt.

Sein Forschungsinteresse lässt sich auf die Frage zuspitzen, wie ubiquitäre elektronische Massen-, Meso- und Individualmedien unsere Wahrnehmung, unser Lernen und unser soziales Miteinander verändern und auf welche Weise sich diese Prozesse angemessen empirisch untersuchen lassen. Besondere Schwerpunkte seiner Forschungsarbeit bilden zur Zeit die unterschiedlichen Formen und psychosozialen Funktionen alltäglicher Audiomediennutzung, die Gestaltung und Rezeption von Klang und Musik in audiovisuellen Medienangeboten, sowie die Weiterentwicklung und Anwendung sozialwissenschaftlicher Methoden (avancierte statistische Verfahren, Mixed-Methods, Qualitative Analyse).

Seine wissenschaftliche Neugier verbindet sich mit dem Willen, gesellschaftliche Veränderungsprozesse nicht nur zu systematisch zu beobachten und methodisch fundiert zu analysieren, sondern gemeinsam mit anderen aktiv mitzugestalten und damit Verantwortung für eine gemeinsame produktive, soziale, freiheitliche und friedliche Zukunft zu tragen.

Diese Vision einer Wissenschaft, die sich einmischt und den Werten der Aufklärung, der Solidarität und des Liberalismus verpflichtet ist, versucht er alltäglich in Gremienarbeit, Lehre, Forschung und Publikationen umzusetzen.

Privat bestreitet Steffen Lepa gerne ausgedehnte Radtouren, kocht, liest, philosophiert, produziert elektronisch-akustische Musik und genießt die Berliner Clubkultur.

Hier können Sie bei Fragen oder Interesse an kooperativen Projekten mit Steffen Lepa in Kontakt treten.